h1

For A While

May 27, 2008

If I leave you, it doesn’t mean I love you any less. – “Keep Me In Your Heart” by Warren Zevon (2003).

A good friend lent me his bootleg DVD copy of Boston Legal a couple of months ago. We have drifted apart, though, and I dread finishing off the series. James Spader, who reminds me of Robert Downey Jr.’s tousled-is-hot look, has become a habit.

More than the plots, I love the soundtrack, particularly this one song, Keep Me In Your Heart, played in the episode where Michael J. Fox appeared as a cancer patient. And I am borrowing it for the next days.

It seems this is a season for goodbyes. I wonder who or what else I should bid farewell to. But since my goodbyes have always been unrefined, I will not even attempt to try. I hope, though, that I will find a way to convey my deep gratitude for the chances I did not deserve, my regret for all my indiscretions and my fervent prayer that, as the late Mr. Zevon sung, you shall keep me in your heart for a while, as I shall keep you in mine.

3 comments

  1. Goodbyes help us recognize that there is always and end to everything… and a beginning as well…


  2. Oh, I didn’t even get to say goodbye earlier! You must still be in the quarry site now while I try to put some order into my life, er, office.

    Hope to see you again soon!


  3. The word “goodbye”, when said means “i’ll keep you in my heart”. It’s no less than a sweet promise rather than construed as an end of something shared or never shared. Some may have been giving a negative meaning to this wonderful word due to some traumatic circumstances that is associated to or may have coincidentally happened during the parting moment, yet to say goodbye is to say hello to tomorrow.

    “Wise man say, only fools rush in…”



Leave a Reply

