h1

True Norths

March 6, 2008

I am on a cold bus on a long eight hour trip to Metro Manila, but a comment I just saw on a post I wrote last November is warming me real good – “and friends reappear from nowhere” – from a sorority sister, dear friend, fitness guru, Bar review partner, wonderful mother and wife to Sir Bong, Atty. Cynthia Jacinto-Bongolan.

It is almost a decade ago but I still distinctly recall what she said about joining the Sorority: “Kahit anong mangyari, may kakampi ka sa mundo.” And indeed, such has always been the case.

It was Cynthia who made me recognize that we need to take care of our bodies. I recall that she just gave birth months before Bar review, there was this regimen she stuck with to lose the excess weight she supposedly gained. I never got to really thank her for taking me along her Academic Oval walks and for her constant diet reminders that kept me healthy during the grueling six-month Bar ordeal.

She was coolness personified back in UP and I learned some pointers on how not to take myself too seriously. Her life – and loves – show that living the life you want need not be premised on one man or chained to a particular circumstance.

I have been blessed with friendships that remain steadfast despite time and distance. You can be apart for years or decades and yet, when friends meet again, it is apparent that the years have been unsuccessful in putting a strain on the ties that bound them.

This is one such friendship. Friends – like Cynthia – who “reappear” are life’s true Norths. Thank you, mare. I pray that I will finally get to see you soon.

One comment

  1. i hope to see you in june 😀



Leave a Reply

