h1

Elevators are evil!

August 29, 2007

I am fast chalking up horrors that shake up our tidy little lives. Five minutes ago, fear manifested itself in the eternity that I found myself in an elevator that got stuck at the 22nd floor.

On the brighter side, at least I got to push that alarm button for the first time and I ascertained for myself that the intercom works – in one of the swiftest conversations I have ever had – the one with building maintenance.

Funny how within the three minutes or so inside the Evil Elevator, all three decades of my life flashed through my mind. It was, yet again, a reminder of how fragile our lives are and how we should learn how to delineate between the things that are ephemeral and those that are eternal. His timing is truly impeccable. It’s a few weeks before I grow older – never mind the wiser part – and He decides to send me a message by suspending an elevator’s flight. Weird, it feels like it’s a brand new day with a fresh resolve to find purpose in this life’s pilgrimage.

Perhaps that darn elevator’s not too evil after all.

8 comments

  1. I suppose you were alone then. Did it not occur to you to wish someone was with you in there?

    Levity aside, I’m amused at how you could make sense of out of these things and incidents.

    But I certainly do not wish that you be stuck in an elevator again.


  2. Funny, no father. It didn’t – is it a sign that I really should accept that I am meant for a life of single blessedness? Oh no! But still, thank you. 🙂 And oh, we are never really alone, aren’t we? Sometimes, His presence is felt when we are most alone.


  3. Maybe it is a sign. And maybe there are and will be others signs. But you have a choice, right?
    Single blessedness is a very noble vocation. I have been blessed to have relatives and friends who chose to be single as a way to be holy.
    And yes, we really are never alone. Thanks for the reminder.


  4. Thank you, father. I will bear that in mind. 🙂 On hindsight, single blessedness is not too scary with you, Fr. Randy, Fr. Sheng, Fr. Nick et. al. around. You guys wouldn’t mind an old spinster lawyer applying to be your clerk two decades from now, would you? 🙂


  5. we would be more than honored


  6. But wait. Two decades from now would be too soon. Wouldn’t that be the time that lawyers would have become Judges or in your case, even Justices?


  7. No, father. 🙂 Not my road, I hope.


  8. hahaha naglalaing dagiti dialogue you. nagmayat ti agbasa. ngem nakaam-amak ti ag-but-in. grabe genius kayo nga talaga.



Leave a Reply

